Irwin R. Callen, MD Memorial Lectureship

The Irwin R. Callen, M.D. Memorial Lectureship honors the memory of a dedicated physician, educator and humanist who enriched the hospital, the Miami Heart Institute. Through his tireless efforts in his pursuit of knowledge, Dr. Callen enhanced and invigorated educational programs through sponsorships of lectureships, expansion of the library and encouragement of clinicians to publish.  As an editor of the Medical Clinics of North America, Dr. Callen included many contributions from his fellow physicians. The Memorial Lectureship is dedicated to Dr. Callen for his commitment to continuing education and his pursuit of excellence.

Conducted annually in late summer in conjunction with the annual meeting of the Florida Chapter of the American College of Cardiology in Orlando, the Callen Lecture brings world-renowned medical authorities to educate Florida cardiologists, surgeons and researchers in the area of cardiovascular medicine. Notable lecturers such as Dr. John W. Kirklin, known as the “father” of modern cardiac surgery, Dr. Valentin Fuster, former president of the American Heart Association, and Dr. Michael DeBakey who revolutionized the care of the cardiovascular patient provide groundbreaking lectures with CME credits to eager attendees. 

Previous Lecturers 

2010 - Keith Webster, PhD
University of Miami
Miami, FL

2011 - Bentley J Bobrow, MD, FACEP, FAHA

University of Arizona College of Medicine
Tucson, AZ

2012 - Graham Nichol, MD, MPH
University of Washington-Seattle
Seatle, WA

2013 - Lance Becker, MD
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

2014 - Jose Antonio Adams, MD  
Mt Sinai Medical Center
Miami Beach, FL

2015 - Bruce Wilkoff, MD, FACC
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH

2016 - Douglas L. Packer, MD, FACC
Mayo Medical School
Rochester, MN

2017 - Viviany R. Taqueti, MD, MPH, FACC
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA

2018 - Keith C Ferdinand, MD, FACC, FAHA, FASH, FNLA
Tulane University School of Medicine
New Orleans, LA 

2019 - Sophie Soklaridis, PhD
University of Toronto
Toronto, Canada 

ACC logo

Florida Chapter, American College of Cardiology
3208 E. Colonial Drive, Suite 264

Orlando, FL 32803


Contact Us

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software